SME Twin Cities Subsection
2014/2015 Luncheons:
January 15, 2015 - Joe Henderson, Program Manager, Mine Permitting and Coordination Section; MN DNR; Coordination of Mine Permitting in MN; 11:30 AM to 01:00 PM, Metropolitan Ballroom, 5418 Wayzata Boulevard, Golden Valley, MN 55416
February 19, 2015 -
May 6, 2015 -


ponsors for 2014/2015

Want to Become a Sponsor?
Learn more: Sponsor Fact Sheet
Those who wish to become a sponsor may pay a $250 fee for the year beginning Oct 1.

Change Registration

Thank-you to our sponsors!

Officers and Directors
Vice Chair: Louis Rudnicki
Secretary-Treasurer: Stacey Larsen
Past Chair: Greg Beckstrom
Director: Harvey Thorleifson
Director: Erin Bruggeman
Director: Dennis Martin
Director: Ken Reid
Director: Lee Petersen


SME Minnesota Section
SME Northern Minnesota Subsection

Join SME Twin Cities on LinkedIn  

The Gavel has been passed! :SME TC Past Chair Greg Beckstrom passes the Gavel to SME TC Chair Bethany Erfourth of Barr - the Subsection remains in good hands!

What is the SME Twin Cities Subsection All About?
The SME Twin Cities Subsection facilitates networking, supports career development, and encourages positive, objective communication regarding the significant role that mining plays in our society.

Want to Become a Member?

SME Twin Cities Members pay $10 per year and obtain a $5 discount off of each luncheon fee. Our membership year begins October 1, and payments may be made when you register for lunch.

UMN SME Student Chapter

2014 SME Student Chapter Awards Twin Cities/Wisconsin Annual Conference
October 7-8, 2014, Plaza Hotel
Eau Claire, Wisconsin

2012 Conference on Silica Sand Resources

Past Guest Speaker Luncheons

Luncheon: November 20, 2014
Heather Barnum and Emily Hyland, HDR Engineering, Inc.
Topic Don't let crisis planning slide: Rio Tinto Kennecott Bingham Canyon Mine Landslide

: May 7th, 2014
Speaker: Professor Charles Fairhurst, UMN
: Earth Resources Engineering

January 16th, 2014
Nicole Hoffman, Twin Metals Minnesota (TMM)
Geology and mineralogy of the TMM Maturi deposit
PowerPoint Presentation

November 21, 2013
Brad Moore, PolyMet Mining
NorthMet project update

February 7, 2013
Speaker: Dennis Martin, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Division of Lands and Minerals
Topic: Nonferrous Metallic Mineral Exploration Activities 1966 through 2011
PowerPoint Presentation

Luncheon: December 6, 2012
Speaker: James Gusek, Golder Associates
Topic: Innovative Methods for Mitigating Acid Rock Drainage
PowerPoint Presentation